The Beauty of Love

My holiday is long over and I am back to face the reality of having to build up my life from scratch while healing from past hurt and pain. This holiday has been much more than I ever intended it to be.

I faced many of my fears including going back to the city in which I lived with my ex and his family. I achieved my goal of letting the city be as it is and not be marred by the negative experiences. I also found it in me to actually look back on the negligible good times that I had in the city during my marriage due to the few lovely people I came into contact, without any regrets, pain or bitterness.

But more than anything else I saw the sheer beauty of love.

Visiting the Taj Mahal was always on my to-do list but never did I expect the experience to be overwhelming in the manner it was. The day I landed in Agra, my dad, who had visited the Taj previously pointed it out on the banks of the River Yamuna as we made our way to the hotel. As I saw the white dome gleaming in the sunlight I was almost instantly moved to tears. Little did I realize that this was the precursor to what was coming the next day.

On my dad’s suggestion we made our way to the Taj Mahal just after sunrise. The gentle cool breeze and the sun trying to peek through the parting clouds of a storm that should have been, proved to be the ideal setting for my first glimpse of one of the Seven Wonders of the World.

The Taj Mahal has one main entrance from the fore complex through which you can see the entire monument. But nothing prepared me for the immense beauty and grace of the Taj as I came face to face with it for the first time.

First Glimpse of the Taj Mahal

The Taj epitomizes a husband’s love for his wife and there I stood a wife betrayed by the man she loved, moved to tears by the sheer pristine beauty of love. I was mesmerized by a man’s labor of love of over 20 years for his wife. The countless photos of the Taj Mahal do absolutely no justice to the immense and almost overwhelming elegance and grace of the monument. The strange quietness and the slow ebbing of the River Yamuna were practically addictive to an extent that I did not want to leave.
Taj Mahal

I could have just sat there for hours simply staring at the Taj without even a hint of regret that I did not experience even a minuscule amount of the love due to a wife. The beauty of the monument simply took over my mind, body and soul. I think for the first time in my life I was in trance like state, completely at peace with my surroundings and without any desires but to stare for hours at the gleaming marble monument of love.

As honeymooners had themselves photographed ensconced in new love, I sat down for the customary photo in front of the Taj Mahal on a bench now popularly known as the ‘Lady Di Bench’. But I sat with my head held high thoroughly enjoying my freedom and solitude. The photo is a testimony of how far I have come in my healing.

This trip has made me appreciate the beauty of love and like the Taj Mahal it is something that I will never forget.

 

 

 

16 comments on “The Beauty of Love

  1. tanyatanzi says:

    Loved reading this post… such a refreshing perspective! Your words reflect the amount of pain and hurt you are going through but what shines out the most among all this chaos is your strength and courage! A lot of respect for that 🙂

  2. snaffled says:

    This entry is very inspiring to me. Thank you! I feel for you as you are going through this time of starting over. Sometimes I wonder what I would do if I was in your position. Sometimes I wonder if my husband still loves me.

    • Thank you for stopping by! I wish you and your family the very best.
      My situation is something I do not wish on anyone even though it has turned out to be one of the best learned lessons of my life.

  3. Snowy says:

    It has amazed me over the past few years the strength of the broken hearted and you are a very strong woman! Hold your head eye and let the sun warm your soul. Thank you for sharing.

    • Thank you for your kind words. It has been a constant struggle to hold on and keep my head high. The thing that keeps me going is that when I have come so far what is another few yards of struggle!

  4. Michael says:

    Hello my friend. Your blog/posts create rewarding moments. I have nominated you for the BEST MOMENT AWARD !!! Visit my site @ http://justmikemon.wordpress.com/2013/05/16/best-moment-award/…..and follow the acceptance rules. Congratulations :

  5. Thank you for your post. It was very inspiring to me… I am going through a divorce at the moment and having a hard time letting go of the hurt and sadness associated with it. I hope to one day be able to let it go and be happy.

    • Thank you for stopping by! Healing after divorce and betrayal is a continuous process which gets easier over time. Initially it might seem that you cannot let go of the hurt, anger and bitterness but these do dissipate over time. Just hang in there, days will get better!

    • Michael says:

      God will surely bring back your joy. He’ll make you forget your days of sorrow so fast that you will see His awesome abilities. However you need the right attitude. God bless you real good.May He visit you in special way. Do have a happy day 🙂

Leave a Reply

