Freedom is Just the Beginning

I have been quiet on the blog for almost a month now, though my mind had been buzzing with numerous ideas for posts I barely got the time or the energy to pen them down and post them. But what dominated the thoughts of posts was the ordeal faced by the freed women in Cleveland. I first came across the news on twitter and did not think much of it till I turned on the TV. 

As Amanda Berry’s photos with her sister and daughter flashed across the screen I could help but going back to the torture and trauma I had faced not so long ago. The thing with power play and abuse is that they start almost in a similar manner but in different situations and are of different intensities. The underlying psychological games of making the victim feel worthless and powerless without the abuser remain the same. The flood of physical and mental abuse, though might vary in intensity, is present in every abusive situation. 

As I thought about the way I submitted to the psychological manipulations of my ex and his family I could almost imagine the trauma these brave women endured. The worst part of continued abuse is the fact that it can be very difficult to adjust to normal life at a later date. By normal I mean enjoying the rights provided to every human.

There are still times when I jerk out of any leisure activity be it sleeping, watching TV or reading a book, guilty and fearful that I should be pleasing my ex and his family so that I do not have to listen to their tirade of abuses. It takes me some time to re-orient and realize that I am in my own house, to do as I please. This surprisingly was echoed by Elizabeth of the Fritzl Case when she found it difficult to sleep on a soft bed after being held captive and raped by her father for 24 years in a dungeon.

This makes one realize that attaining freedom is just the beginning of a whole new arduous journey of healing through every bit of trauma. It also includes dealing with the moving on of life, as Berry did with the passing away of her mother, when the life of victim was made to stand still by cutting her off from her support system.  My heart goes out to them along with prayers that their healing period is short and sweet to propel them into success later on. 

11 comments on “Freedom is Just the Beginning

  1. Hello. I had wondered where you had been. Yes, it was a terrible ordeal by the women, and so great that they are now free.
    It is interesting how one can have more empathy with others, having been through trauma oneself.

    • The empathy is not only increased but also more understanding since you can fathom the various challenges the other person has to now overcome on the painful road of recovery and healing.

      • And I recognise that you are looking to the healing of others – away from the immediacy of your own pain. that is a great step forward for yourself as well.

      • Thank you! I can feel and see the progress especially when I look back at the days of raw emotions or painfully observe someone else having to deal with the same.

  2. reocochran says:

    I think it is good to empathize with others, but you surely need our thoughts and prayers, too. Since we have been getting to know you, we do care how you survive, move forward and hopefully the window opened for your escape to a happy life ahead!

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, I’m touched beyond I can describe! Yes empathy is essential to provide support in times of need and more so in case of divorce. Though I do not wish this pain on anyone I do hope that there people out there like you to help out the unfortunate individuals through a confusing and painful time.

  3. reocochran says:

    Hi! I nominated you for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award! On my most recent post, I list the easy 4 rules, have your blog on my top 15 of inspiring writers that I enjoy reading! I hope you will check this out and “accept” the nomination!

  4. Michael says:

    Hiii. How have you been? I hope you are good? God bless you 🙂

Leave a Reply

